top of page

Germany Extends Border Controls with Czechia, Poland, and Switzerland Until February 2024

In a move aimed at maintaining stringent border security measures, Germany's Minister of Interior, Nancy Faeser, has announced the extension of border controls with Czechia, Poland, and Switzerland for an additional two months, continuing until February 2024. The existing measures, which were initially set to expire on December 15, have been deemed effective in addressing security concerns and preventing irregular entries into the country.

Germany Extends Border Controls with Czechia, Poland, and Switzerland Until February 2024

During an interview with Rheinische Post last week, Minister Faeser emphasized the success of the current border controls, stating that they have proven to be effective in detecting people smugglers and preventing unauthorized entries of migrants. The decision to extend the measures reflects the German government's commitment to bolstering border security and ensuring the integrity of its immigration control systems.

The border controls, first introduced in October, were initially extended to December 15, with additional law enforcement officers deployed at strategic border points. The controls are part of Germany's efforts to manage and regulate migration flows while addressing security challenges. Data from the German Ministry of Interior reveals that approximately 9,200 unauthorized entries were detected since the introduction of border controls in October. Moreover, around 4,370 entries were successfully prevented during the same period, highlighting the efficacy of the measures in place.


Despite the positive assessment from Minister Faeser, the decision has faced criticism from Andreas Roßkopf of the German police union GdP. Roßkopf raised concerns about the overall effectiveness of the measures in reducing the number of asylum seekers. He urged authorities to provide clarity on whether police officers should remain stationed at the country's borders or be deployed in cities with a high concentration of asylum seekers for enhanced security measures.

Germany's decision to extend border controls aligns with similar measures implemented by several other Schengen member states. Slovenia, Slovakia, Austria, Poland, Czechia, and Finland are among the countries that have also maintained border checks with certain neighboring member states. Slovenia, for instance, recently announced the extension of its border controls with Croatia and Hungary until December 21, citing ongoing concerns about increased migration. The Slovak government echoed similar sentiments, justifying the extension of its measures due to heightened migration concerns. As Schengen member states grapple with evolving migration challenges, the debate over the balance between security measures and the free movement of people within the Schengen Area continues.



bottom of page