top of page

Another 141 Russians are barred from entering the EU for aiding Russia's illegal war in Ukraine

Since the commencement of the Ukrainian conflict, 1386 Russian citizens have been barred from entering the European Union's territory, with another 141 Russian citizens added to the list of those on whom the EU countries have applied restrictive measures today, December 16.

The decision was announced by the EU Council in a press statement, which also states that another 49 entities will be subject to the restrictive measures as part of the EU's ninth package of sanctions on Russia as a result of its war in Ukraine.

In response to the decision, the EU's High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell, stated that these individuals and businesses were sanctioned by the EU for being a tool in Russia's conflict in Ukraine.

“The political masters in the Russian government, in the Duma, in the Federation Council, and in the judiciary are being targeted. Those responsible for looting of Ukrainian grain and for the forced deportation of Ukrainian people and, in particular, children, are being sanctioned, as well as organisations who are poisoning the public space with a systematic manipulation of information,” High Representative Borrel said.

He also emphasised that the EU is determined to assist Ukraine in whatever way possible for as long as it is required.

The Credit Bank of Moscow, JSC Dalnevostochniy, as well as numerous defence and industrial businesses, political parties, and media holdings controlled by Russian authorities, are among the entities sanctioned under the most recent package.

So far, 1,386 individuals and 171 businesses have been sanctioned as a result of the new addition to the list of sanctions. The sanctions include an asset freeze for firms from which EU nationals and companies are forbidden from transferring funds, as well as an entry ban for persons who are not permitted to travel to or via the Schengen Area or EU nations.

The measures, however, have no effect on agricultural and food commerce between Russia and other third nations, including wheat and fertilisers.

Back in early October of this year, the EU imposed the eighth package of sanctions against Russia, including a new €7 billion import ban on Russian finished and semi-finished steel products, plastics, automobiles, footwear, textiles, ceramics, leather, some chemical products, and non-gold jewellery.



bottom of page